I have been in limbo for some time now, although I am working and I know my goals, sometimes, I go through a moment of overwhelming confusion. I would pretend as if I have everything together but the truth is I’m lost as f**k. This lasted for months. I felt as if I wasn’t where I wanted to be and I had no idea how I was going to get there, which, in turn, made me procrastinate.

Your parents ever tell you not to do something and you go ahead and do it, but when its someone else you like or look up to advise against the same thing, you listen? That was me. I knew exactly what to do to get the results I wanted, but I guess I wasn’t motivated enough to get the ball rolling.

The day things started to change was the day I confessed to a couple of my friends how lost I was. Christians and non- Christians alike, I received well-needed suggestions (which I already knew, ugh!!).

Anyways, Some stated that I wasn’t  in tune with God, others suggested I should get more exercise and others suggested that I wasn’t passionate enough about what I was doing, that maybe I need a change in environment and last but not least, I should find a way plan and manage my time better.

I listened to all and realized I have failed in all the above. I found myself getting comfortable with the progress that I have made. That progress slowly turned back because I lost sight of my goal. I thought I was ok, That the steps I made would last forever. In reality, just like weight gain, it can slowly creep up on you and before you know it, you have to start over.

I decided to implement my friend’s suggestions and get the ball rolling, again!! I have experience in all these areas, so I know exactly what I have to do, my problem is the how.  I had to change things up, the old routine was no more.
Here are some things I did to get back on track. It’s a basic outline, but you will get the gist.

  • Develop Good Habits. If you want to achieve your goals, you need to commit to developing good habits. It’s proven that the best way to improve your overall health and well-being is to create a  regular habit. The most effective way to do this is to create a morning ritual. In the morning, I have the most willpower/energy, and so my motivation is at its peak. A trick I use to get me out of bed in the morning is Mel Robbins 5 Sec rule. It helped a lot with getting back my mojo. If I had to rate It I would give it an 8/10. Find something that is going to get you out of bed in the morning.
  • Overnight prep. It’s not easy and you won’t be able to do it all the time or things might change the next day, but having that to do list will make your day go easier, even if there is a last minute change. Seeing that schedule in front of you gives you the ability to move things around. You’re not so confused and wouldn’t have clients calling you about plans or promises you made lol.
  • Morning Meditation/yoga/exercise. Start your morning with one or all the above. I find that my day flows a lot better when I say my prayer and affirmations for the day before I start anything. Exercising gives me that feel good boost to push through the morning. Just 15 minutes in the morning can make a difference. I find that when I don’t meditate or exercise my day tends to be meh and I don’t get much done.
  • Minimize contact with negative people. This isn’t always possible but do it as much as you can. At least do this for a short while. It’s really easy to tune into someone’s negative energy, especially when you are lost and down, you soak it up like a sponge.  I really believe that some people complain as though it were an Olympic event! Keep clear of them while you are trying to get your mojo back.
  • Maximize time with people that refuel your energy. I can’t stress this enough, you become the five or six people with whom you hang out the most. Befriend people who make you want to “do” and “be” better.  Set some talk time with them. If you trust them enough, bounce a snippet of your idea with them and get their feedback. Another thing you can do is listen to motivational videos or podcast. I love Les brown, Mel Robbins, Lisa Nichols and Oprah. I love listening to them, especially in the morning when I am more receptive to my surroundings.

N.B. These people could be your friends, family, co-workers, the type of people you follow on social media and even the type of music you listen. Be mindful of these things.

  • Return the favor/ give back. If your friend or a stranger took the time out to help you and/or set you on the right path, it’s only fair to do the same for someone else, true? Although you are benefiting someone, you could be growing and opening doors for yourself without even knowing. Don’t be afraid to share information that has helped you overcome financial or emotional issues in your life.
  • Vision board/ Goals book. Creating a goals book completely changed the game for me. Before I knew I wanted, but, writing it down, breaking it into mini goals/ steps and creating time periods to achieve each goal, and what I would have to do to achieve it, was pure clarity. Every morning I would get up and look at it to remind myself.
  • Accountability. When you are accountable to others, you are more likely to follow through on your goals. When you don’t have someone in your corner, cheering you on and checking up on you, it is easy to make excuses for why you can’t accomplish something. An accountability partner, like a coach or a mentor, can give you the motivation that you need in order to take action when you are not where you want to be in life. I use a couple of my friends for this. I didn’t choose them on purpose, I realized that they had a genuine interest in my progress and the little things I’m doing towards my goal. This pushed me because I didn’t want to disappoint them.
  • Get out of your house/ have fun. GET OUT!!!! No, not the movie lol. Don’t forget to live your life. A simple thing as taking a walk can be so refreshing for the mind. Make time for friends and family. Learn to enjoy the process to greatness. Make a list of exciting, adventurous things you’ve always wanted to do and tick them off as you experience them, Even if it takes days, weeks or months, do it.
  • Nothing is wrong with starting over. At first, you fail to succeed, try try try again. Don’t ever give up. You can learn from your failures.

Leave a comment